Fast Sewing Again – Style Arc Danni Dolman

I’d love to say I’ve already started on my Autumn sewing plans, however I’m really just still on a fast and easy sewing kick, to fit in with my more outdoorsy Summer lifestyle (Yorkshire, windswept hills, rain) and so my attention swung around finally to a pattern I’ve had for a while, the Style Arc Danni Dolman, which has been pulled out, examined, then put away on a number of occasions.

I do love a wide boat-neck as it’s flattering for my narrowish shoulders and the slim skirt really helps balance out the look. It’s also very work appropriate and comfortable, but the right fabric, as always, was the issue.

The last thing I need is a super-clingy dress in my wardrobe so i was on the hunt for something beefy enough to skim my figure, yet drapey enough for the sleeves and pleats to hang nicely. The pattern doesn’t use a lot, only 1.6 metres, and a after a dive into my stash I was surprised to come up with a wool/poly knit fabric I’d had for a couple of years, bought from Mood in New York a few years back, on a very special trip, but which was now really grating on me with it’s overly large print, weird colour placement and stingy quantity.

IMG_0953

And I think it’s a winner. No, it isn’t pieced, that’s the print and I’m so pleased with the placement, which really I had no choice in. The poor bridges though. They had nowhere to go, sigh. You can just about see them, front, bottom right. Also, I could just get this pattern on the 1.5m fabric I had, but I had to shorten it a few inches, and I’m 5’4″. I would say you need more fabric than recommended, especially if your print is directional.

IMG_0949

Ignore the slightly wavy hem, which I twin-needled, and underwear, ahem!  I used a size 10, without alterations, and I think the fit is pretty good, although it could have probably done with my usual swayback alteration. The lower arms are a little tight too, but as all 4 of my limbs are on the plump side I should probably have checked this first. It was all completed on my overlord/overlocker/serger in a matter of hours.

When taking the pictures I discovered a setting on my camera, which was a real revelation, and which means I can now take all my own photos, easily, without relying on the patience and availability of my partner, or his camera skills. Most of you who have good cameras probably know about this already, but basically, I put my camera into timer mode, with face recognition, just set it up at the right height and once I walk into shot, and my face is recognised by the lens, the camera automatically takes a picture. I can then just stand there and pose again, and it takes another picture, without pressing any buttons.  Again and again. Yeah, baby, one more pose, you love the camera, a little lower, yeah, that’s it, come on, let’s see that smile. OK, you get the picture. Ha! Also, whilst on the subject of photo taking, I’m looking forward to Gillian’s series on taking better pictures, in her Better Pictures Project. I’ve still got a lot to learn about taking good photos.

Still learning? Yes, even with the simplest patterns something always come up.

3 thoughts on “Fast Sewing Again – Style Arc Danni Dolman

  1. Um, WHAT? Does my camera have that setting? It sounds amazing! (I’m pretty sure my camera doesn’t because it’s from 2008… but I’m definitely going to check!) That dress looks great on you – I really love the print placement!

    • I have a Sony DSC RX 100 – one of the more flexible point and shoot cameras, which I bought a couple of years ago. So it’s only taken me 2 years to find this out. By accident. Also love your latest post. The photos are fabulous. So sharp and well composed. Can’t wait to hear more about taking good photos.

Leave a Reply

