Paper Girl

I was a paper-girl back in the day, delivering every type of newspaper and magazine to my neighbours homes. Most mornings I would haul weighty, hessian bags on my thin shoulders before school, in all weathers and on Sundays I had the heaviest work, when I’d have to stop every few minutes at the beginning of my round until I’d part-emptied my bag of the heavily supplemented editions.  Mostly, though, I was rather slow because I’d spend a lot of time actually reading what I was meant to deliver, soaking up the latest news headlines as well as pictures from glossy titles hinting at a whole new world of glamour and style to a shy and uncultured 13 year old. So, call me old-fashioned, but it’s no surprise that I now look forward to being on the receiving end of those same deliveries, by having my Burda magazine delivered by my local newsagent each month. I love to get my hands on real printed pages and after 3 years subscribing I still can’t help being excited to see what each edition brings.

Quite often there’s nothing much of interest, however this outfit in their May edition really grabbed my attention and I had to make it right away.

I started on the trousers, as they looked great for summer, however I had to make so many adjustments that I finally gave up on them. I just couldn’t get the right combination of bagginess, style  and comfort and they really weren’t very flattering. The top, however, yielded better results.

IMG_0931

The cotton shirting fabric came from Fabworks, again, and creases rather easily unfortunately, but is a lovely crossweave. I shortened the top a few inches as well as reducing the depth of the neck opening to prevent the whole of my bra showing. That front opening is scandalously low.  I also did my usual forward shoulder and sway back adjustments. (The jeans are unblogged Burda)

I finished the inside of the hem and neckline with some purchased Liberty bias binding. I really dislike making binding.

DSC02112

For the trousers I tried the unfortunately named Flat-bottomed Flo. Thank goodness it was sent through the post in a plain wrapper! Style Arc’s Flo pattern is a simple design and, since I always have to do a FBA (flat butt adjustment, ha! )  I was hoping for some success. For once, I hit the jackpot, as they needed only small adjustments to give a decent fit. Basically, I just shortened them, took a 2cm wedge out of the yoke for my sway back, shortened the waistband and that was it.

I teamed the pattern with some heavyweight stretch cotton I got from my fabrics. It feels like a denim, sewed beautifully and will hopefully wear well. I’ve had it a while and was happy to experiment with it on this pattern. It reminds me a bit of curtain fabric but I love the colours.

The front looks pretty good.

DSC02105

I will need to do a knock-kneed adjustment though as the front seamline is definitely pulling inwards. This is another adjustment I usually have to make. I really shouldn’t be too surprised at this as my mum once entered me for a nobbly knees competition on holiday when I was small, and, to my shame, I won!

The back fits well over my posterior. I added pockets for practicality, although they are lost in this busy design. The elastic waistband is very comfortable. I may narrow the legs in future too.

DSC02106

Although the print is not particularly flattering on my lower half, it’s a very comfortable and practical outfit. I’ve already made the top again in a striking Vlisco fabric and will definitely be making the trousers again.

DSC02100

The weather has been beautiful here and taking photos outdoors was a real pleasure, for a change. Our pear tree has done so well, after giving us nothing last Summer. Those fruits look almost ready, yum!

One thought on “Paper Girl

Leave a Reply

